konalavadome

Hangman

• 11 Replies

daviddrymusic

• Busker
« on: August 13, 2015, 11:01:24 PM »
Hello everyone,

Here's my newest demo, Hangman. I bought a Cajon (Drum not chicken) last month, and this is my first time playing it.

This is a song I've had for a while but never got around to recording. I plan to do re-record it but happy enough with this demo at the minute. Let me know what you think!

https://soundcloud.com/daviddrymusic/hangman-demo

Now here comes the rain,
I know it’s in the way of your big vision.
Get out of my way I told you once before,
But did you listen?

Wait in line, rolling eyes,
Wasting light is always your religion.
No more lies, I don’t need your advice,
Come tonight I don’t need your permission.

And I feel the ropes,
Leave me here in my position,
And I feel the ropes,
Cut me down it’s your decision now,
I’ll hangman.

Words get in my way,
I know it isn’t fair but did you listen?
All I never said is all I ever meant,
The point you’re missing.

seriousfun

• Stadium Tour
    • Allan Kilgour - Original Compositions
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2015, 11:18:35 PM »
I like the song, The guitar and vox are done well. Effective treatment in the vox. You have built some nice dynamics into this, the breakdown at 1:25 is particularly effective.  

Instrument wise I couldn't detect a bass unless its very low in the mix. You deffinately need a bass sound in the track. I think you could make more of the cajon, it sounds pretty dull, some eq should be able to bring some of the sound out better. The guitar may be better with a cleaner sound as it shares the same frequencies as the vox and they could do with a bit more separation. Perhaps try and find a space for each of them. Normally a cajon implies to me a live performance so that is why I was thinking a cleaner sound might fit better to give a cleaner more acoustic sound to the track.