konalavadome

Can Anyone Help?

• 7 Replies

Craig Watkins

• Busker
« on: May 21, 2015, 07:17:36 PM »
Hi Everyone
when it comes to home recording I have no idea of what I'm really doing, but I realy wanna learn. There are 100 's of books out there but is there any in popular I should get? I been looking at Home Recording For Dummies but is it any good? I'm a complete newbie at this. Any help would be great :) all I record with at the moment is a mic st right into the pc

Let's start at the beginning.

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2015, 07:31:01 PM »
I would suggest spending some time determining EXACTLY what you want to achieve

Once we can establish this we can find the best resources for you - or even get you up and running before you buy a book

In my experience most books assume a basic understanding already

They will often also cover "all bases" so are likely to contain a lot of irrelevant stuff so it could even confuse you more

If you could answer the following questions we can point you in the right direction:

What type of music do you want to be writing/recording?

What instruments will you be using?

How many instruments will you record at the same time? (include each vocal as an instrument)

Do you want to use a PC, Mac, iPad or a standalone recording device?

What is your budget for equipment? - or what equipment do you already have?

Where will you be recording?

Once you answer these questions I can help you a bit more...
To check out my music please visit:

http://soundcloud.com/boydiemusic

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BoydieMusic

Craig Watkins

• Busker
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2015, 09:04:46 PM »
Hi boy die thanks for replying :)

What type of music do you want to be writing/recording?
I write and record on my acoustic,  I write pop punk / pop / indie music at the moment but open to try any style

What instruments will you be using?
I use acoustic guitar and I'm looking to get a midi keyboard