konalavadome

I'm a new songwriter.. Need your tips!

• 7 Replies

Zrudolph

• Busker
« on: June 11, 2012, 11:33:06 PM »
So.. I was a guitarist in a rock band but now i'm starting my own band which i will be singer/songwriter... I've written probably ten songs and although the flow and melody is good there is a Lack of Creative metaphores and phrases and overall wit... When i do write a really good bit it's often hard for me to fit it in the correct phrase for the song..What did you do on a daily basis to become a creative songwriter?
Thanks -zach :)

The Corsair

• Platinum Album
  • I'm the latest model Johnny
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 02:51:48 AM »
On a daily basis? Nothing.
I, basically, wait for the ideas to hit me...

I'm pretty sure you'll find everyone here was crap at writing to begin with but at some point something suddenly works out and you write something far better than anything you've done before. Or at least that's what happened with me.
And of course it's an ongoing process.
Defective Elector

Zrudolph

• Busker
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 03:10:26 AM »
On a daily basis? Nothing.
I, basically, wait for the ideas to hit me...

I'm pretty sure you'll find everyone here was crap at writing to begin with but at some point something suddenly works out and you write something far better than anything you've done before. Or at least that's what happened with me.
And of course it's an ongoing process.
thanks man!

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2012, 08:27:37 AM »
 The very first thing to do (if you haven't done so already) is to create and maintain a "Hook Book"

This can either be a notebook, a dictaphone, or a phone/smartphone

For me I use the "notes" feature of my Blackberry - I just have one file called "hook book" to which I add any and every song idea, lyric, phrase, word etc. that I think may make a good lyric