konalavadome

Is this any good?

• 5 Replies

mr_T

• Busker
« on: July 01, 2009, 09:10:12 AM »
I've got a Tascam digital 4 track portastudio a bit like this one only older http://www.tascam.com/products/dp-004.html
is it any good for making song demos or do I need to save up and get protools or something? Sorry for the noob questions but I am new to making music and I really want to be good.

Guy

• Busker
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2009, 10:00:21 AM »
hey mr_T
I don't really know much about recording, but a friend of mine told me that any digital recorder is capable of making a decent recording, and that the things you use to capture the sounds (eg mics) and instrument quality are actually the more important factors.
My own recordings are done on my PC with a medium priced vocal mic, and they sound pretty rubbish, but then, I don't really know how to use the gear very well. My friend has promised to teach me :)
I'll post my new knowledge when I acquire it :p

Lappa

• Busker
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2009, 07:20:16 PM »
It depends on what you are planning to do with the tracks once they are recorded. The main advantage to getting something like Pro Tools is for the advanced sound editing features. A digital recorder such as the one you're looking at usually has some built-in effects (like reverb, compression and sometimes amp modelling), which will allow you to make the recording sound a bit more professional but the quality of these effects will be noticeably worse.

Captain Andy

• Busker
    • Captain Andy
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2009, 12:02:51 AM »
I've got a Tascam digital 4 track portastudio a bit like this one only older http://www.tascam.com/products/dp-004.html
is it any good for making song demos or do I need to save up and get protools or something? Sorry for the noob questions but I am new to making music and I really want to be good.

If you want to record guitar and vocals then something like that should do the job just fine.