new to song writing

• 10 Replies

mr_T

• Busker
« on: July 01, 2009, 09:04:50 AM »
hi there, my names Tim and Im new to writing songs. I've been playing the guitar for nearly a year and I really want to write my own songs but I just don't know how to get started?
What should I write about, and how do you know what chords to use? I love music, but I really need some help getting going.
Thanks
Tim

jessie

• Busker
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2009, 10:36:29 AM »
Hiya Tim
You look a lot like Jon Bon Jovi! lol!
I'm in a similar situation, I have written some songs but I can't finish mine - I end up thinking they are all rubbish! You can play the guitar which is a great start, try to write about something that is really personal, like an experience you had that means a lot to you. I can't really help with what chords to use because I just use the ones that sound nice! I don't have any idea about music theory, but I would think you have come to the right place to get advice.

Good luck!
:) Jessie

tone

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
  • Forum Former Führer
  • The People's Democratic Republic of Songwriting
    • Anthony Lane on soundcloud
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2009, 03:04:37 PM »
What should I write about, and how do you know what chords to use?
It can be hard if you've never written a song before, and don't expect it to come easily at first.  Like all things, practice is the key.  I can't speak for everyone, but this is what worked for me:
Learn other peoples songs, and lots of them.  You'll get a feel for how a song is structured, and what chord combinations work well together, and how atmospheres are created.  Then, when you find yourself playing around with a tune or some chords, go with it. It's never worked for me to try and decide what to write a song about before having something to work with.