Song writing without being able to play instruments

• 12 Replies

Jamie369

• Busker
« on: July 24, 2013, 06:08:54 PM »
Good evening people

I am very new and have only recently developed a desire to wright songs, I have been singing for a while but never actually written anything.

I think of lyrics and melodies all the time but often and take not buy never get round to taking them further as I can't play an instrument which I always presumed means I can't right songs, am I wrong?

Could anyone give me advice, I am planning on learning piano for the purpose of weighting song but until then.

Thanks in advance and apologies if iv said anything ridiculous, im a complete noob

Jamie

Jess

• Stadium Tour
  • Disney Princess in the making
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 08:42:16 PM »
I used to only write lyrics, but then whenever I told people I wrote songs they said I couldn't unless I played an instrument, so I've been learning guitar ever since. It definitely helps being able to play an instrument, it's also really fun because you can play around with chord progressions and picking patterns. I don't know about piano, but I love my guitar to death :)
"When writing a song, if your afraid to suck, you'll never write a note" -Jeff Boyle

adamholden

• Open Mic
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2013, 02:44:21 PM »
Hi Jamie

It's an interesting question and I think for me the key is that you do have an instrument: you can sing the words! It can be really useful to work on lyrics on the page but ultimately they're about being sung, not read. When I was a kid I used to record things on tape (that shows my age), so that gets you around not being able to write down or remember.