hello from sunny Scotland! :-)

• 10 Replies

Calum Carlyle

• Busker
    • Calum Carlyle Music
« on: May 03, 2013, 02:39:15 PM »
Hello.

I'm a singer-songwriter based in Edinburgh. I've been part of the FAWM and 50/90 online songwriting communities for a few years, and found immense benefit in it. They write a ton of songs and everybody comments on each other's work. The only thing is that those forums are seasonal, and i am hoping that songwriterforum.co.uk will turn out to be similar, but all year round.

So, i've been playing music for about 25 years, and writing for maybe 20, i've been in various bands, always managing to miss my opportunities to get famous (or better, rich), and somehow my music tastes never jibe with the current trends, and my business acumen is not just non-existent but actually inadvertently self destructive.

As such, i've pretty much given up taking myself seriously as a musician or songwriter, and now i write songs and play music simply to alleviate the creative itch, though i'm still a perfectionist (and i'd still be perfectly happy to strike it rich too!)

I'm going to become a dad this year so my priorities will undoubtedly change, but not sure just in what way yet. I'm still active in an upcoming music project called The Urban Folk Crowd, which is an acoustic/folk/hip-hop/spoken word crossover, and i used to run live events, and a music blog, both called Edinburgh Unlimited.

If any of the rest of you are from Edinburgh or its environs it'd be interesting to hear from you, since there's a weekly songwriters-only open mic called Out Of The Bedroom i need to tell you about, and also it's nice to know people in one's own area too, of course (but of course, as well, i want to get to know people regardless of where they are, and that's why i'm here on the internet!)

So yeah, that's it, here's my website (below) if you'd like to listen to some new music, and i'll be here with the occasional new song, and listening to songs as well.