Are you signed to a publisher?

• 13 Replies

Alan Starkie

• Platinum Album
« on: January 14, 2013, 09:28:06 PM »
Are you signed to a publisher/publishers?

What's your experience?

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 10:50:47 PM »
I have been working with a UK publisher for a few months

It has been an incredibly useful experience and I have learnt so much

The biggies are...

- Seeing "real life" pitches (for some major artists and smaller/emerging artists) is a really eye opening experience. Having been given well over 50 pitches in the last 3 months there are definite trends in what record labels are asking publishers for - e.g. all labels seem to be lining up the next Justin Bieber at the moment and are looking for tracks to suit! (this thought might make you shudder bit it is da truth!)

- If you are writing "album tracks" you are wasting your time trying to get interest from publishers - all they are after is hits, hits, hits

- Forget deep and meaningful songwriting - go with the current trends, keep it simple, repetitive lyrics, catchy melodies, repetitive lyrics, top notch production, and repetitive lyrics

- the production of a demo not only needs to be "broadcast quality" (ie "radio ready") it needs to contain all of the "sonic hooks" - swooshes, sound fx, etc.

In this day and age this is all now part of the songwriting/demo process - you can no longer submit a "guitar and vocal" recording expecting the publisher/label to imagine the full production

For me the experience has made me completely re-evaluate my songwriting techniques/approach

I have invested in a new laptop and upgraded my DAW to improve production

I have purchased new soft-synths and samples to "modernise" my sound