There's Something In the Air (1933)

• 0 Replies

Ivar Sand

• Busker
  • The Office Band featuring myself
« on: December 21, 2012, 12:50:17 PM »
Performance by Marion Burns:

Lyrics:
http://lyricsplayground.com/alpha/songs/t/theressomethingintheair.shtml.

Writers:
Bernie Grossman and Cyrus Harold Lewis.

This song, "There's Something In the Air", is from the movie "Sensation Hunters" (1933). It is old, but in my opinion it has not aged much. I love it.

Here, I will take a close look at this song to see how a song made by professionals looks like. Note that I am not an expert in such an analysis.

The performance.
Marion Burns does not move with the music, but I think that was never the intention.

The melody.
The type of music might be described as popular music of the day. I would say that the melody has a hook even according to today's standards. It seems obvious to me that the song runs in 4/4. I have not been able to determine who wrote the music and who wrote the lyrics, Grossman or Lewis; maybe they wrote both together.

The theme of the song.
The theme is kept in the dark throughout the song, but we get vague indications from lines like "My senses are all on fire", "Something that makes an old man get busy with his feet", "Making my feelings bubble", and so on.

The song's structure: AABBCBBBCB.
- To understand this structure designation you have to read the lyrics. To remind you: AA works as an intro, most of the B parts start with "There's something in the air", and the C parts start with: "Something that makes". The melody of the second A part is a bit different from the melody of the first A, but the two melodies are merely variants of each other.