konalavadome

Best Specs To Record

• 4 Replies

Mother Natures Son

• Busker
« on: November 08, 2012, 03:51:51 AM »
Hi everyone,
I'm finally taking the time to upgrade my netbook to try and get a near studio sounding quality out of it. But to be honest I'm not tech savvy and have no clue about upgrading....especially what needs upgrading to get a decent sound of it. Right now these are my specs.

Model - Eee PC 1015PE
Processing speed - 1.2ghz
memory - 1gb
storage - 118gb

Right now the sound that comes out of it (whether being the internal mic or a cheap external mic) is horrible. Everything sounds underwater and I don't know if this is down to the sound card or not? The whole netbook is very slow. Video plays at about a frame a second.

If anyone can help me on what needs doing or even an article on it then I would be very grateful!

Mother Natures Son

• Busker
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2012, 04:43:09 AM »
I should probably add a couple of things. I'll be recording just vocals and acoustic guitar through a mic, no more than 4 or 5 layers on Cubase.

Ramshackles

• Global Moderator
  • Stadium Tour
  • https://soundcloud.com/ramshackles
    • Ramshackles @ Facebook
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2012, 06:55:50 AM »
Got a preamp?
Got an audio converter/interface?

James Nighthawk

• Stadium Tour
    • www.facebook.com/jamesnighthawk
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2012, 10:47:16 AM »
I cannot recommend these people enough

www.dv247.com

Esp if you can get to branch (cambridge is my local, great lads there)

I have bought 4 systems here over the last 12 years. Always steered me well, helped me sped my money in the RIGHT places (they have often lost slaes or recommended cheaper alternatives)

Call/go see em, explain your needs, software you like, and they will help mould your basket.

www.facebook.com/jamesnighthawk
Twitter @JamesNighthawk

domstone86

• Open Mic
    • Facebook URL
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2012, 11:06:21 AM »