konalavadome

Information about royalties for distribution, broadcasting and live performances

• 3 Replies

leoweber909

• Busker
« on: October 04, 2012, 01:56:38 PM »
Hello everybody,

I'm a beginner songwriter based in Bristol and have no experience in the music market. I come to you because, so far, there's been no website or forum on the internet able to help me.

I wrote a song along with a Swedish Dj duo (I wrote the melody and lyrics and they made the arrangement). After a couple of months they were able to sign with a record label and the song will be released in November 2012 on iTunes, Spotify, CD format, main Scandinavian radio stations and some others worldwide.

My problem is that I have NO idea of what I have to do to get my share of the royalties.
- Are they even allowed to get a deal with a record label and release our song without my     authorisation?
- Do I need to contact a publisher or an association like PRS would take care of all aspects?
- Should I talk to their record label? I'm afraid they will try to take advantage of the fact I don't know nothing about it.

Basically my question is "Who should I talk to, so that I can have my royalties either for live performances, tv and radio broadcasts, online streaming and mechanical and digital distribution?".

Thank you very much for your help.

tone

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
  • Forum Former Führer
  • The People's Democratic Republic of Songwriting
    • Anthony Lane on soundcloud
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2012, 05:02:34 PM »
First of all, can you prove that you wrote the melody and lyrics? Do you have any email or written correspondence to back up your claim?

If you don't, you may be vulnerable on this point.

But the first thing you should do is to contact the producers, and politely ask them how you're going to be credited, and what the royalty split is going to be for your collaborative song. It's possible that they know as little as you.