konalavadome

MIDI, please help..

• 4 Replies

habiTat

• Stadium Tour
    • habiTat songs
« on: September 26, 2012, 08:20:03 PM »
I'm keen to have a go at working with midi and learning how to use it, I have got cakewalk sonar and I've downloaded reaper. My problem is, where do I start??

I thought I'd try to construct a very simple tune but I don't know how, I am used to audacity where you just press record or import wav files and then manipulate/overlay the sound waves etc.

Please, any advice would be great, I've been pondering this for about 6 months now.

Michael

• Solo Gig
    • Soundcloud
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2012, 09:33:22 PM »
Well, there is a lot one could talk about when it comes to MIDI, I'll give it a try and explain the basics.
(I don't know how much knowledge you have of the topic, so I'll start with the basics... This is a guide to MIDI for someone just starting to use it - if you already know all of this, just ignore it, I don't mean to patronize anyone, those are just some things I wish someone had told me when I first started using MIDI)

I guess the first (and possibly most important) thing to know about the topic is that a simple MIDI track, unlike the wav files in an audio track, does NOT produce ANY sound on its own.
You can think of MIDI notes as notes on a music sheet: they don't make any sound, they just tell the musician, e.g. a piano player, what key to press, when to press it and when to release it again (And possibly a few other parameters, I'll get to that later).

So in order to get sound out of this, you have to tell your DAW what to do with the MIDI notes you recorded/wrote. Here you have two possibilities I can think of now:
   - Create a new track with a VST-instrument, and route the MIDI track into the instrument track (so basically the MIDI track tells the instrument track which notes to play, and the VST-instrument then produces the sound). This is probably the easiest way to start with and learn about MIDI.