konalavadome

Nylon String Acoustic Guitar - Recommendations please!

• 8 Replies

James Nighthawk

• Stadium Tour
    • www.facebook.com/jamesnighthawk
« on: September 19, 2012, 11:56:37 PM »
Hello fellow players of the acoustic guitar!

I am considering buying a nylon string guitar. I have been listening (for a change!) to Ms Laura Marling a lot of late - Her "Live at York Minster" CD was worth rebuying her recent album for! And I have really been loving the softer sound of the nylon strung guitar she has taken to using more and more. I could see me writing on such and instrument and enjoying recording with one.

Ideally I want one with built in electrics of a decent quality, giggable basically.

But of course a very nice recordable sound for the studio.

I am a steel string player so no thick Spanish style necks thanks!

Budget ideally 3 figures not 4!

I am COMPLETELY new to this world. In the steel strung world I know the main differences in sound and playability between a Martin/Gibson/Takamine etc... but here I am a noob!

Enlighten me people, and perhaps help me buy my next baby  ;D

Thanks in advance!

J
www.facebook.com/jamesnighthawk
Twitter @JamesNighthawk

tone

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
  • Forum Former Führer
  • The People's Democratic Republic of Songwriting
    • Anthony Lane on soundcloud
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2012, 01:31:45 AM »
Nylon strung guitars are brilliant! :D I absolutely love my classical guitar, and it's easily the best guitar I own by a long stretch.

I'm not terribly geeky about instruments, but it's an Epiphone C50. The tone of this guitar is just perfect.

But.

And it's a fairly important but... unless you're willing to spend a lot of money, getting one with a built-in pickup system that actually sounds good when you plug it in isn't very easy. I definitely recommend using a mic-based pickup, or a mic/ transducer blended system. The transducer on its own sounds very plastic-y. I've yet to hear one that doesn't.