konalavadome

What's your job? What would you like it to be?

• 6 Replies

habiTat

• Stadium Tour
    • habiTat songs
« on: September 18, 2012, 10:26:31 PM »
Inspired in part by a first post on the introductions section about good jobs to have for songwriting, it's made me curious. (I've checked back 10 pages and can't find this subject as far as I can see).

What jobs do we all do?  What do you wish you did?

I read your posts, your opinions and views on mine and others music. Some of you show an admirable, professional working knowledge of music, others simply say what you like and what you don't. Some of what I read leads me to think that you are actually professional musicians, earning money from your craft, be it from production/writing, whatever. Is this the case or are you just the same as me, a normal bloke with a job and a family, squeezing in my hobby wherever I can?

Ok, I'll go first since I'm the one asking.

I work as a geotechnical site supervisor. It sounds better than it is, but it basically involves digging pits and drilling boreholes by hand. Working for the insurance industry I investigate the causes of subsidence on buildings. I get rained on a lot, and regularly hurt my back and skin my knuckles.

As for my ideal job, quite predictably (for a songwriting forum), I wish I could earn money from my writing, a bit like Banks and Wag. I don't want to perform or be famous, that's not for me. I'd just like to be able to do what I enjoy and get paid for it. :)

S.T.C

• Stadium Tour
  • American Cars........out now
    • http://oldsongsnew.com/
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2012, 10:36:19 PM »
I`m a chef....i hope to start a business that will take me into Europe a bit....i too would like to earn a living making songs....if i could paint ...that would also interest me...

andy5544

• Platinum Album
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2012, 12:43:02 AM »
i'm what's commonly refered to nowadays as a multi trades person  (general builder )