Songwriter Forum > Recording

Mixing VST instruments.

(1/1)

Ramshackles:
Me and Boydie have been chatting a bit about mixing tracks done with VSTi's, so I thought I would share some very general thoughts here. I'm by no means an expert and generally dont use VST stuff much in my own work, so much of my experience is through mixing other peoples stuff. Please feel free to add to it with things that you have found work well!
Here we go:

- Use a different MIDI track for each individual part. I.E snare, kick, cymbal, hat all on different tracks. Each violin part on different tracks. This is going to be very useful when it comes to mixing and my next point:

- Do not start mixing with midi tracks still in your DAW! When you have settled on the VST sound and all the midi arrangement and you are ready to mix, you want to treat the VST track like any other audio track and you want to be able to use plugins, hardware etc on it. So, solo each individual midi/VST track and export it to a wav (or aiff on the mac) file. Start a new mix session with all the final wav files for the song and arrange them in some logical order.

- Understand the difference between the raw VST sounds and what you are trying to achieve.
What I mean is, in general VST instruments (from the major companies) are recorded in pristine studios on amazing equipment. East-West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Toontrack, FXpansion all use high high end studios. Their instruments are made to sound GREAT on their own and fill up the stereo field, so that when you make a quick midi part or listen to a demo of that instrument, you go WOW :).

But what most people are trying to do is to make that instrument work along with a host of other stuff, much of which is often recorded in not-so-pristine rooms with not-quite-amazing equipment.
There is a mismatch there that needs to be addressed.

Two things I do straight away are: