Bubbles in Puddles (Instrumental)

• 19 Replies

Schavuitje

• Stadium Tour
    • Camera Shy
« on: February 27, 2012, 02:41:30 AM »
Very tentative about putting this one up  :-[

As those who know me well, well know. I haven't been playing a keyboard for long. Since shortly before Christmas. I think it's a great

extra weapon to have in my arsenal though which is why I have been doing a lot of playing with it in between other songs.

I would like feedback about any aspect of it. Production, instrumentation, whatever :)

One thing I would like to know is if you piano players can tell that I'm a guitarist playing the piano? I obviously don't know anything about

how piano players approach things and I would like to know what I'm doing wrong. Or maybe not wrong but differently. I'm curious if there are some common

things guitarists do when they start to learn a piano.

Cheers

http://soundcloud.com/the-short-straws/bubbles-in-puddles
There are holes in the sky where the rain gets in  , but they're ever so small, that's why rain is thin.

Ramshackles

• Global Moderator
  • Stadium Tour
  • https://soundcloud.com/ramshackles
    • Ramshackles @ Facebook
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 09:05:33 AM »
Well I cant tell you are a guitarist playing the piano, but I can tell it's not your best instrument :P
It lacks a bit of clearly defined rhythm...I guess off-beat things is what you are going for, but if you listen to some piano music like that....jazz or debussy, it still has a clearly defined rhythm...

It's sounds very bubble-bathy :D Quite unique sounds...a lot of them doo sound like Casio-tones though :D of course, that might be the idea...
It takes off much more when the bass comes in, and when everything drops out it sounds good. I think doing stuff like this is a great thing to do to find new sounds, techniques and ideas to incorporate into other songs...

All the sounds are very complimentary aswell...they mesh well and dont 'fight' against each other...

tone