First impressions of this site etc.

• 8 Replies

estreet

• Solo Gig
« on: February 13, 2012, 08:50:36 PM »
Hi. Let me say first off that I'm a newbie member of not much longer than a week's standing. I hope you won't find it presumptuous of me to air my first impressions of this site.

First off, I think it's a brilliant idea and more than that a necessary idea. There are huge limitations to asking for an opinion of one of your songs from either fans, band members, friends or family. Their opinion is only sometimes truthful for a multitude of reasons including bias or 'not wanting to upset you'. Therefore, I think it's essential that people offer their genuine opinions here, although I admit that that is fraught with difficulty too, because music is such a subjective thing.

I have found that when we play gigs with our original band (eden), people who have never seen you before seem to suffer from a compulsion to come up and tell you who they think you sound like. This became so fascinating to me at one point that I started making a list of the names people mentioned - and apart from the fact that it became a very bizarre list - I noticed  that many of them were people whom I either loathed or didn't own a single album by! My point here is that everyone judges stuff against the reference points they know - therefore, if you only own albums by Abba and Dire Straits then I guess we sound like Dire Straits (a band I can't stand mostly). So you have to be critical of the criticism and its provenance. Therefore, if someone makes an interesting comment about my stuff here  then I often take another listen to their music so that I can see where they are coming from and how much of what they have said to take aboard. This is all good though - you can do that here.