Tips on being af beginner

• 4 Replies

Guybrush831

• Busker
« on: February 14, 2022, 11:34:54 PM »
Hey guys,

I am new to the forum - I've struggled with "having fun" with songwriting. Music is clearly my passion and I enjoy listening to it and I love performing my favourite tunes.
I recently read a book which speaks about internal resistance against certain tasks and there was a point which really rings true to me.

I don't feel I've ever allowed myself to be a complete beginner, with no expectations, when it comes to writing my own songs. I've never created a setting where the purpose was not to judge what I have written. I have gone to open mic night, I've even released music but I now feel that these settings is placing "the bar to high" if that makes sense. It has been no fun at all.
To me it's not fun sitting alone, sweating over a song to then go perform it to strangers with a "put a smile on and plow through" mindset as if I'm auditioning for something - again I hope this makes sense:-)

My question is again - in which way can I instead be a total beginner, share a rough draft of a phrase, have some fun and enjoy music?
Which tools would you recommend? Can I record a single line in garageband? Post it on soundcloud? Are the better outlets? Or what advice would you give to at complete beginner?

All the best:-)
« Last Edit: February 14, 2022, 11:37:15 PM by Guybrush831 »

CaliaMoko

• Stadium Tour
  • Strumming on the couch in pigtails
    • Late Bloomers Rock
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2022, 03:29:01 AM »