New to this, slightly nervous!

• 6 Replies

beckylucythomas

• Stadium Tour
« on: January 23, 2012, 05:38:22 PM »
Hi everyone! nice to meet you!

I've just spent a little time reading a few of the recent review postings etc and decided to be brave and register and maybe post some things up for review.

I guess I've been writing lyrics for a few years now but have never shown them to anyone - it's kinda scary as I guess lots of you would agree - but lots of you are doing it so I felt inspired. I also have only recently started thinking, if I'm writing all this stuff, what is the point of it all if I never show anyone - have been picturing someone after my death finding a dusty shoebox under my bed full of my masterpieces  ;) ! That's when I suddenly though why not look online for some kind of songwriters forum... And here you are!

I've written loads of lyrics but musically I can't get very far - I am a (very) rusty pianist but don't have an instrument and also a (very) rusty flautist. I do have 2 guitars but I can't play them!! Haha isn't that stupid!... Anyway so I have all these lyrics but I can't seem to hear them to music in my head... Sometimes the bones of a melody start to present but even then I can't get very far with any sort of accompaniment... I'm not sure whether that's because my lyrics are no good or because I have no musical talent or because I don't have an instrument to experiment on... Hope it's the latter!!!

I don't have any recording equipment either (except my laptop's inbuilt webcam/mic) and in any case I don't think I'm brave enough yet to post myself singing. So I guess my first post/s will be lyrics only. I hope that is OK! I know lots of you are much more advanced than that... I guess maybe some comments on whether you could imagine any of my lyrics set to music would be quite helpful. And then any tips on how I could get that side of things happening would be great!