I Know Your Password Scam

• 6 Replies

Royston

• Open Mic
« on: April 25, 2020, 01:16:13 PM »
I received one of these scams this morning has any other member/s received any and whats the best way to deal with these scammers thanks.

Cheers Royston

shadowfax

• Stadium Tour
  • Singer songwriter
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2020, 01:20:45 PM »
Ignore it or change your password...
Soundcloud Shadowfax6

from the nightmare!

Sterix

• Platinum Album
  • Devil may care, I do not!
    • Sterix Rocks!
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2020, 02:52:12 PM »
Usually, if you get an e-mail saying they know your password, they DON'T. If they know your password, they're more likely to hack your account and use it to further their activities. Occasionally you'll get an e-mail which contains a password you do use/have used. Most of the time they have acquired those passwords by hacking into big companies databases. If it is a password you still use then change it wherever you use it.

I work in IT and one of my clients only this week clicked on a link, put in his login details in that link (*sigh*), and DID get hacked. The hacker(s) in this case used his e-mail to send out to everyone in his address book (and, worse, the company's Global Address List) but before they did that they created a rule that deleted all incoming e-mails - that way they put off discovery for longer as he didn't get any e-mails to warn him something was wrong). This was a pure phishing scam - they were probably gathering passwords since a great many people will use the same password for all their logins. If someone uses the same password for their Amazon account then someone could possibly log in and order stuff for themselves through it... you get the picture.

Thangs you could/should do...

1. Before deleting it you should actually mark it as spam (if it hasn't already gone into your spam folder). This will add it to your blacklist so any further e-mails from there will go to spam instead. Then delete it.