konalavadome

Advice needed please.

• 21 Replies

pompeyjazz

• Stadium Tour
  • pompeyjazz
« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2020, 09:47:54 PM »
I have been using Reaper for 5 years now. $60 gets you the full version although you can download the full version for free and only pay for it if and when you want, although for me a week of evaluation persuaded me to buy the license. I also started off with Audacity and although it's a great freebie it has two big disadvantages to my mind. Firstly there is no midi facility and if you have never used midi I would say that it opens up a whole new world. Secondly in Audacity, if you apply an effect it's irreversible. Not good when you are experimenting. Which ever way you go you have to expect a learning curve but there are so many great tutorials out there on YouTube. Good luck  :)

MonnoDB

• Stadium Tour
    • Soundcloud Profile
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2020, 09:55:05 PM »
Defo invest it gear / home studio.. I've been to studio with my mates a few times - it was great fun and an amazing experience.. I was dragged to the first session as two of my friends had a day-in-a-studio voucher.. so they dragged 3 others along.. Had never written a song and at the first session the gauntlet was thrown down - bring an original song each to the next session... that's how I started... Anyhow, I digress.. Now I've been writing and recording for a few years, there's no comparison. Being able to record when I've just written a song is the best feeling (of course, in reality, it takes time between writing and recording).. Anyway, in my opinion it's a much better investment putting it into gear etc.. I've never looked back ..

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2020, 07:49:15 AM »
@5 guys named Lars

I am going to sound a note of caution before you rush out and buy loads of kit - as it is definitely a potential rabbit hole you are about to dive in to!