Songwriter Forum > Recording

Tuned Vocals

(1/9) > >>

Cawproductions:
Hi all.
I am bracing myself for an onslaught of possible abuse here.

Question: Do most lower end DAWS (ie, not the pro versions) come with some sort of Vocal tuning.

I hear so many great songs in the amateur arena and most of them have pitchy vocals in places.
It got me thinking, as the vocal is mostly the focal point of a track why do people not spend time to fix slight errors.
Is it because tuning software is pricey or some Daws dont come with even a basic version of this or people just dont do it as it takes a lot time to do accurately.

Or simply that people dont like tuned vocals, now I am not talking about the horrific Cher thing or some guy called T payne..just minor pitch fixes on phrases.

Ok, whooooaaa, I am no pro singer and my vocal needs a TON of work...Turds and Polishing springs to mind here.

On a rainy Sunday afternoon, it got me wondering.

Happy Sunday people.

pompeyjazz:
Hi @Cawproductions Reaper comes with it's own built in tuner, Reatune. There are automatic and manual modes. I have used it on occasions mainly in manual mode as I've found that auto mode can produce some unexpected results. It's pretty fiddly to get right though and I'm guessing that's why a lot of people dont use it. Interesting thread Andy

cowparsleyman:
Interesting thread...

I wouldn’t know if the cheaper daws have it, but even if they did it’s not always something that is felt to be necessary, as some vocalists can’t hear that they are out of tune, i one had a heated discussion with someone that swore blind they were completely in tune when they were way way off.

Yip i do use melodyne from time to time and yes it’s complicated and time consuming but very very effective and pretty expensive. I always recommend it as the results are invisible and lovely Perfecly aligned harmonies above ones range are completely achievable, they can sound female if the formant is tweaked upwards a tad.