konalavadome

Struggle to get the sound up front "in your face"

• 4 Replies

t.wretborn

• Busker
  • Hobby musician from Sweden.
« on: April 26, 2019, 10:23:37 AM »
Hello!

I'm new to music production and new to this forum. I just started out in Logic. I posted my first song in the feedback forum which i now understand is used more for feedback on the actual song. Structure, arrangement etc.

I'm happy with the song structure but not with the sound so I move to this part of the forum instead in hope to get some advice on what to think about when working on my next song to get the sound towards what im looking for.

What I think is bad:
The whole track sounds distant, like it is floating in the air behind a curtain. Sorry for that weird description but its the best way i can describe it :P
It is not popping out, its not present, clear and "in your face".

How do you guys do to take your raw unmixed track through the mixing to pop out? Do you have any "go to" procedure when you experience what i tried to describe above?

I have used EQ and compression as far as my knowledge can take me. Boosted some and cut some other to give space. High and low pass on some of the tracks (rhythm guitars, bass, parts of the drums). Left the compression on default on all but the vocals and mastering. I know there is loads more that can and should be done, but i dont know where to start.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

The song

https://soundcloud.com/user-652929989/i-could

Jambrains

• Platinum Album
  • Jim Steinman ftw!
    • Jambrains
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2019, 01:31:35 PM »
<Swedish> Hej där! Kul med en landsman här! </Swedish>
Frankly I don't see the problem, to my ears the production sounds bloody good! And a great song at that.

Sure, there could be a little more bottom end, the guitars may be a tad too up front at times, drums could have a little more punch etc but that's really minor stuff and I'm not sure e.g. punchier drums would fit the vibe of the song.