How you learnt about recording

• 16 Replies

DailyDean

• Busker
  • I'm Dean and I'm mean
« on: November 29, 2011, 04:38:23 PM »
Hey guys. Just a question coming from a GarageBand amateur. I was wondering how some of you guys got into professional recording. Did you take music production as a course? paid for lessons? friends? self-taught? My journey's been a pretty slow one and my practice has come either from just trying things out or learning from the internet.

Ramshackles

• Global Moderator
  • Stadium Tour
  • https://soundcloud.com/ramshackles
    • Ramshackles @ Facebook
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 06:10:17 PM »
Well, I wouldnt say I've ever done any professional recording  :D
I've played an instrument since about 6 yrs old and started teaching myself other instruments from about 12. I remember in music lessons at school, the teacher would often record things and when I was about 16 he bought a new digital recorder and I was able to take the 8-track tape recorder home :) Since then it been a gradual increase of gear...
After about 2 years I switched to N-track (which was a free daw) and then about 2 years later I built a dedicated desktop and switched to cubase.

tina m

• Stadium Tour
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2011, 06:59:23 PM »
ive always taught myself evrything... home recording & playing guitar included ive never got on with authority figures including teachers which is probably why i never learnt much at school...so its always been trial & lots of error with me but that apeals to me i like an adventure yuo see ;D
i bought a 4 track tape studio in the mid 80s & that was nice & simple to use & a good intro to home recording & then got a early version
   of ntrack which was quite basic then so it wasnt to hard to understand.....i dont think it was ever free tho?
i did have a lot of problems with it tho & after a big break to have my children i came back to it &  & joined the ntrack forum
i think a good user forum is essntial for any DAW