konalavadome

Recording low vs Recording Loud

• 10 Replies

Jzr171

• Busker
    • My Music
« on: June 27, 2018, 07:58:52 PM »
I have seen conflicting statements around the internet. In your experience, is it best to record at a lower volume and then boost or record loud and then turn down.  I have tried both. When recording lower I found it was hard to get things, like vocals, to ever stand out. But then going loud leads to clipping. I have heard the right compressor is the answer to either method. But I am not good with compressors.  Any tips are appreciated.
Let music bring us all together.

https://soundcloud.com/thenamelessvb

tone

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
  • Forum Former Führer
  • The People's Democratic Republic of Songwriting
    • Anthony Lane on soundcloud
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 10:11:05 PM »
First of all, a compressor will not fix clipping. Once you've recorded something so loud that it clips, you can't process the clipping away again.

The trick is to spend some time setting up your signal so that it;s hot (loud) enough to work with while not loud enough to clip. Personally I prefer a track to be as hot as is reasonably possible- that way you don't introduce extra noise from adding gain to a quiet signal.

Compressors only balance out the loud/ quiet parts of your take, making the whole thing a more consistent level. Some people use them for tracking, but they're no substitute for a good signal chain.
New EP: Straitjacket - Listen here

1st track from my upcoming album -- Click to listen -- Thanks!

Please read the rules before posting in the feedback forums http://bit.l

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2018, 08:30:57 AM »