Waves Compressor Plugins - what is the difference between them?

• 3 Replies

cowparsleyman

• Stadium Tour
  • What would you rather be or a wasp?
« on: June 27, 2018, 09:03:42 AM »
Whato

Just thought I bring this to the forum, about compressors, I know there a quite a few members on the forum that know all about these but there also might be some that really might appreciate a little help.

I'm no expert...basically compressors allow one to bring something up in the mix without it sounding distorted and rubbish.

Why are there so many and what are they good for? One can pay loads of wallop for compressors, but really there is no need.

From my experience they DO sound very different, take these 4 examples from Waves (of course they are available from other Vendors, such as UAD, even free versions Molot CCCP Army version? etc.)

UREI 1176
LA 2
Fairchild 670
dbx 160x

I won't go into the scientific stuff about threshold, ratios and make up gain, as that's been explained better elsewhere.

But to my ears/experience: (based on Waves plugins - not the real hardware)
UREI 1176 and LA2a- subtle but good for Vox
Fairchild 670 & dbx 160x - superb for drums

Overall If I had to go for just one it would be the Fairchild, Waves call it the Puigchild wait long enough and it'll appear in the specials page for a handful of $$$ - (such a daft name.)

The really do sound different enough to justify buying them. Most have enough advanced features on them so you can do more later on...

Channel strips are a section of famous mixing desks from manufactureres like Neve or Solid State Logic, they often come with some kind of compressor in, and can be very good indeed, but it comes with all the colouration of sound that the strip brings, which can be a real treat.

I have tried a bunch of others, such as the Magix AM-munition, and AM-Track are really good too for drums. and some free ones , but to be honest they didn't set me on fire. (to my ears)