Plectrum ?

• 9 Replies

Katie Wilson

« on: April 18, 2018, 12:47:49 AM »
As some of you know I have really purchased a guitar , I'm learning a few bits as I go (chords ) but I also want to experiment and just play about with sounds that I like and stuff - I've watched some you tube videos on playing single strings and I quite like playing with my thumb downwards and catching a few strings on the way up

I wondered what views others on the forum had and also are there any famous guitarists who don't use a plectrum
Thanks Katie xxx

dasntn

• Open Mic
  • Nex't'Nothin - my main gig
    • Nex't'Nothin
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2018, 07:48:05 AM »
Mark Knopfler of Dire Straights is on that springs to mind. But also anyone who is finger picking, which most guitarists do from time to time.

Guitar is not my main instrument, so I'm no expert, but I do struggle a bit with plectrums, often dropping them. If you find that, you might want to look at Snake picks, which hold onto your finger.
Cheers
Dave

Wicked Deeds

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2018, 09:47:28 AM »
Try to become comfortable using a plectrum, for strumming and lead work. The plectrum will make your playing sound crisp. Equally. Develop your finger picking style, it's useful to be able to strum without a plectrum and is fairly easy too. If it is your goal, you'll also be able to play a little lead without plectrum too. Simply enjoy playing.

Wicked

Skub

• Stadium Tour
    • Soundcloud
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2018, 12:56:01 PM »
Yo Katie.

Experiment with absolutely every way of birthing a note. Plectrum,fingernails or whatever.

I started playing by using pick and over the years I gradually edged towards using my fingers. I love the control and the organic feel of having both hands in direct contact with the guitar,so these days I seldom use a plectrum at all,except when playing bass,because the longer nails on my right hand tend to connect with the strings anyway!