konalavadome

Wildflowers

• 25 Replies

sarahlawrence17

• Busker
« on: March 18, 2018, 07:46:11 AM »
Hi, I'm Sarah. This is a song about my experiences of being a teenager. I'd be really happy to get any feedback, but in particular it would be awesome to get some help with what I could do with my production as I don't know a lot about what I'm doing in that sphere! Thanks for listening :)

https://soundcloud.com/user-495044754/wildflowers

Sixteen years deep in the middle of winter
I don’t know when the sun started to splinter
But suddenly I swear the trees are growing bare

He’s long gone and I think that I know that now
Maybe that’s why I let you take me out
You pick me up and it’s clear to me you are just as empty

And I keep quiet, ’cause I’m still learning to be on fire without burning you
And if we get bored we’ll break each other’s hearts
We all sit at home and we shut our mouths because we don’t care about anything
But I hope you care about me

So take me somewhere
Somewhere far away, I heard talk’s cheap and the company’s to die for
Where smiles flash under strobe lights
And all the people dance like wildflowers ripped from the cracks in the sidewalk
We’re wildflowers ripped from the cracks in the sidewalk

And we’re both so scared to fall, so we talk slow
Heart is beating fast but I’m hoping that you don’t know
’Cause they taught us to hide the truth
The first guard down will lose

And we still love the songs we knew when we were thirteen, screaming in the backseat
But we have learned to keep our voices down
And so we sit at home and we tend our frowns, we care so damn much about everything
And I know you care about me

So take me somewhere
Somewhere far away, I heard talk’s cheap and the company’s to die for
And all the people dance like wildflowers ripped from the cracks in the sidewalk
Like wildflowers ripped from the cracks in the sidewalk

And they’re so lost, and we’re so lost
Oh and the winter seems so long
And they’re so lost, and we’re so lost