The Oldest Noob In Town...

• 9 Replies

Sterix

• Platinum Album
  • Devil may care, I do not!
    • Sterix Rocks!
« on: February 26, 2018, 10:34:40 PM »
Hi.

My name is Martin, I'm from the UK, and I've been writing songs for over 30 years (ye gads, I feel old!). Unfortunately, since I don't play an instrument (I did learn the recorder in infant school and I can occasionally hit more than one key in the right order on my dilapidated old synthesizer so those don't count) I have to remember the tunes in my head and hope I can remember them afterwards (was easier when I was younger, now much more difficult).

I've recently been having more and more morbose thoughts regarding the stuff I've written and how, once I pop my mortal coil, they could disappear forever. I've joined this forum partly in the hope of remedying that somewhat, and maybe offering advice from some of the experience (or lack thereof) I've accumulated over the years.

Anyhow, enough of my ramblings for now. I'm sure I'll reveal more as I get to know people here.

CaliaMoko

• Stadium Tour
  • Strumming on the couch in pigtails
    • Late Bloomers Rock
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2018, 12:09:00 AM »
Welcome, Martin! You've joined a great forum! We have a few Martin/Martyns here. And the guys who aren't named Martin (or Martyn) are mostly named Paul. So prepare for identity confusion. ;D

I look forward to hearing from you on the various boards.

Vicki

cowparsleyman

• Stadium Tour
  • What would you rather be or a wasp?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2018, 09:43:18 AM »
Welcome to the zone,

You'll like it here...people are very friendly.

cpm

adamfarr

• Stadium Tour
    • SongEspresso
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2018, 10:34:33 AM »
As someone else a "few months" over 20, welcome indeed. I agree there's nothing like old father time to add some urgency to the creative process!
But a few grey hairs mean that you've a lot to give as well as to receive so look forward to seeing you round here.

Sterix