konalavadome

How much I'm learning

• 3 Replies

Katie Wilson

« on: February 25, 2018, 01:20:12 AM »
Well where do I start ?
I'm not a musician and to be honest I'm not really much of a lyricist but I am improving I think with help from others , I've learnt that songs need structure .

I don't know about melody or chords or anything to do with music and to be honest that isn't really my thing , I love words .

When i first started I could write what I thought was a song in ten minutes but now I realise that it needs a bit more work on it than that .

When I write poetry  I just write  what was there and thats great for the therapy but I think with writing lyrics ( and some poems ) it's different - some times what you write down on a pad sounds completely different when you actually sing it .

I'm still not sure when a song of mine needs a bridge but I know that most songs have a story told through the verses and the focus and the overall thing that you want to,convey is in the chorus and that's will pull people to your song

I find leaving feedback hard as I am a beginner and I don't really know what I'm talking about because I'm with people a lot more talented than me .

But today I have released the importance of feedback it is nice to.do,for other people but it I think that it is vital in your journey as a song writer or lyric writer for you to grow and just writing nice things that you want people to hear is wasting everyone's time
I also realise that setting the scene with a small story or a few words before they song is important , its not just about the words it's about the emotion behind them words

I quite like the idea of playing the guitar  but I am not as passion about that as I am writing.

I'm really looking for people to take my lyrics ( change them a bit to fit if necessary ) and make a song out of it - that for me is the most exciting and rewarding part.

Thanks for all your help,
Katie xxx