Lyrics why is it so hard to write how you feel ?

• 9 Replies

fendertele

• Busker
« on: March 27, 2010, 05:48:50 AM »
Hey guys ive been writing music for 15 years now and im able to get across my feelings in the music, infact sometimes i feel the music gets across how i feel better on its own than when i try to add lyrics to it, so i end up with 100's of instrumentals.

The problem i have is ive had a lot %^&* going on in my life in the last few years and it would feel good to get it out in my songs as im not great and talking about it to people and i feel it would be a major weight off me if i could let it out in this way.

But i keep falling on this style of writing " I feel....... I wish........ I Would....." it gets it out okay but it doesnt do anything for the song it just sounds like someone telling someone else there problems one at a time.

I would like to know how i can get it out but in a clever or not so obvious way but not ventruing to far away from the actual feelings and also not in a 3rd person way.

Guys like Morrisey and Elliot Smith are two that seem to be able to take a feeling and make it something that people are interested in hearing about and not just some guy telling his problems over and over, as it would be okay for one song but then if im doing it in every song ...

cheers for any input.

espeach

• Busker
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2010, 12:34:38 PM »
Hi Fender...

I understand what you mean, and i suppose i am one of those guilty for pouring out the problem in a song...

Thing is maybe you should.  write them all as they come get all the emotions out on paper as though you're telling someone else... you don't have to put them to any instrumental just write them out.  That way you can start getting them off your chest... once they're on paper you can then manipulate them however you feel necessary..

Alternatively you can write it as though your having a conversation with yourslef rather than another person.