konalavadome

How much is too much to spend on a guitar?

• 8 Replies

Hooded Singer

• Open Mic
« on: October 19, 2017, 05:15:08 PM »
 ???

mickyplankton

• Platinum Album
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2017, 11:47:55 AM »
How long is a piece of string?

My advice, if you are browsing guitars is not to look at the price. Ask the dealer to pick 3 or 4 spanning a range of budgets and see if you can hear the difference. If you can't, then go with the cheapest!

If you can, then It's down to how much you are prepared to pay to get the optimal sound.

I'm an amateur guitar player and generally play rythm so I personally wouldn't pay more than £150 for an acoustic or £300 for electric.

tone

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
  • Forum Former Führer
  • The People's Democratic Republic of Songwriting
    • Anthony Lane on soundcloud
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2017, 02:52:31 PM »
It depends on what you're looking for.

If you want a robust, well built guitar with a good sound for gigging and recording, I'd suggest somewhere in the region of £500 should do you very well. BUT it depends on so many things. For example, if you're not a great player, the best guitar in the world won't make you sound any better (although it will possibly make you look better)

For example, I like to think of myself as a medium-good guitarist, and I have an American fender tele with a vox valve amp, and I think the quality is matched perfectly to my ability and needs. Acoustic-wise, I'm a bit under-represented. My guitar is fine, but it's not great recorded, and I think I'd do well to upgrade to a cheap Martin or similar.

But if you're looking for something that's going to hold its value, form part of a collection, or just be a one-of-a-kind job, then it's only limited by your budget. There are some very expensive guitars out there. You only have to justify the expense (and have bags of cash!)
New EP: Straitjacket - Listen here

1st track from my upcoming album -- Click to listen -- Thanks!