konalavadome

Some songs

• 10 Replies

Jay-morris

• Busker
« on: September 09, 2017, 01:16:15 PM »
Hi everyone

I came across this forum today, and decided to join. A little bit about me. I live in Brighton. I am a digital artist, but also, in my spare time write songs. I have never shared my songs with anyone until recently. The only person before was my 6 year old daughter.

Now, I work in a very unique place. I am telephone fundraiser (don't hate me) The great thing about my job, is the people who work there. It is a mix of actors, artists and songwriters. Some of these people have had success in the past with acting and songwriting. It is a great environment filled with people I can relate too.

Even one of my favorite bands drummer joined our place. I will not say his name, or what band, but at one point, they were quite big and toured with system of a down, Red hot chilli peppers to name a few.

Anyway, i got talking to him and mentioned i write songs, but really for myself. He told me to send him some. I really did not want too, but in the end i did. He said he really liked them, and they had potential. Off course, being me, i thought he was just being nice because he worked with me. Now, a few people from work have heard them and say they are good. One of my friends there says he wants to produce them.

I just cannot believe that they really like my songs, and are just saying it to be nice. I love writing songs, but never thought them to be good enough to sing live, even though i have been asked a number of times when i go to open mics in Brighton.

I am very strongly influenced by Elliott smith and Leonard Cohen, and my songs are Mellon collie. I recorded them on one take, and never bothered to polish them. I recorded them on my mobile phone, so the quality is not good. I do not like my voice either, and not an experienced guitarist, pretty much self taught.