konalavadome

A little feedback and input from you guys...?

• 6 Replies

James Hester

• Busker
« on: September 28, 2011, 12:33:04 AM »
Hi there -

I've already posted a brief intro in the 'Introductions' section so I hope that will serve as an explanation to my questions below.

As a freelance drummer, I'm keen to get your input into me trying to do my job better.

Hope you can help me out?

1. On average, how many of your songs wil end up with a session band replacing the parts?

2. If you use session players, do you just use a drummer, bass player, whole band or another mixture?

3. Do you tend to use the same people in the sessions?

4. What stops you replacing programmed parts with real players?

5. If you could use session players, would you?

6. Would the format of: a) letting a drummer come up with a rough demo and emailing a stereo mix b) discussing any changes to the part c)drummer rerecords drum part and sends individual stems + a stereo mix be something that would work for you guys and gals or is there another format that would suit?

7. Does what the drummers (or other musician) arsenal of gear bother you? i.e. - would you need a full list of drums, cymbals, recording gear etc?

8. What other thoughts do you have about remote recording using sessions players?

9. What level of cost would you think reasonable per track (as an average not-too-complex track)

10. How valuable do you feel a sessions players connection with your track is? For instance I like to have a copy of the lyrics, discuss the approach (is it a story, a statement - check out James Taylors 'Fire and Rain' for great story telling drums or again, James Taylors 'How Sweet It Is' for great statement style playing. Or have things like this never crossed your mind?

11. Do you have any other thoughts on this area at all?