contact conspiracy..

• 6 Replies

shadowfax

• Stadium Tour
  • Singer songwriter
« on: August 13, 2017, 12:14:59 PM »
I was in Klangfarbe music shop in Vienna a few days a go
 (yeah, strange name for a music shop, it means instrumental timbre or tone colour) so not so strange in Austria then ;D
and struck up a conversation with a Musician who said he had a lot of good contacts for pitching songs, so I asked if i could have a few and he immediately clammed up, didn't wanna give me any contact info,
I've come across this a few times and was just wondering..are they afraid of competition or what?

maybe us musicians have to find our own contacts and not help another musician, is that how it is?

I'm a pro photographer and often give loads of contacts to other pro's...

so ??? ???

best, Kevin :)
Soundcloud Shadowfax6

from the nightmare!

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2017, 12:25:34 PM »
I think it is a case of people wanting to brag and the whole "I know something you don't" kind of thing

I do not think the sharing of contact information would actually help anyway as any approach you make would still be "unsolicited" - all of the contact information you could want is freely available

The exception to this is when someone else digs your music and is prepared to "introduce" you to their publisher, music supervisor, music library etc.

In this case they are effectively "vouching" for you as both a writer and as a person as they would not want to risk their own reputation/relationship by introducing someone who is not a good writer or difficult to work with

The best way to get this type of introduction is to collab with someone that is already signed - and the bast way to do this is to simply ask, the worst they can do is say no!
To check out my music please visit:

http://soundcloud.com/boydiemusic

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BoydieMusic

tone

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
  • Forum Former Führer