Summer Lover (Summer Song Competition)

• 12 Replies

Darren1664

• Platinum Album
« on: May 14, 2017, 04:57:08 PM »
Hey

So I seen the summer competition and thought I would have a go at writing a song for it as I have never written to a topic like that before. I started mushing some chords together and it wrote itself kind of by accident. I didn't draw from any personal experience on this and decided to come up with a story. As I pieced the lyrics together I got drawn to the idea of this being about someone who had a partner just for a summer but wanted it to be more and it never happened. He's somebody who desperately wants love and has sacrificed his own happiness in it's pursuit. So anyway, here it is...It is by no means finished and a few errors in the tracking (guitars and vocals) but hey ho there was less mistakes than usual so I thought I'd roll with before I lose too much time faffing around.

Feed back on both song and lyrics very welcome. Thank in advance and I will make sure that I get around to listening and reviewing some more over the next weekend (sorry been a tad busy)

https://soundcloud.com/user-41129754/summer-lover

The lyrics:

He was sat on the beach in the summer
When something shaded his eyes
It looked like his former lover's
Silhouette against the sky

But it wasn't them at all
Just another person catching a ball
The situation made his recall
His summer lover

Last summer, when they got together
They were having the time of their lives
Then he mentioned forever
and something changed in their eyes

And it wasn't meant to be at all
Just another guy dropping the ball
In his search for someone to call
His Autumn, Winter, Spring and Summer Lover

He wants somebody to love

This summer, he's going to take it easy
Mr cool, calm and breezy
Just this side of sleazy
and a little bit left of cheesy

and he's going to have himself ball
and let the chip land where they fall
and might just find someone to call
Summer Lover His forever lover