music lessons or self-taught musician / songwriter?

• 3 Replies

Dutchbeat

« on: September 16, 2011, 04:10:35 PM »
I was just wondering, how many songwriters on this forum had music / singing lessons, and how many are self-taught musicians....

i have had a few years of piano lessons, but couldn't cope with that anymore because of the total boredom 

tone

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
  • Forum Former Führer
  • The People's Democratic Republic of Songwriting
    • Anthony Lane on soundcloud
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2011, 05:37:03 PM »
When I was about 4 my grandmother taught me to play the organ. Didn't get very far with that, and when I was about 12 my dad taught me the basics on the guitar. A couple of years later I had about 6 months of lessons, but the rest is all my own work! ;)

Although recently I did take up formal piano tuition. Only had 4 lessons so far, but really loving it.

Singing is entirely self-taught with the exception of one singing lesson in my early 20s which made me realise I was doing fine by myself!

It's funny how some people feel really stifled by formal tuition. I find it really complementary (so far) to my songwriting, although if I'd started off on the formal route, maybe I'd feel differently.
New EP: Straitjacket - Listen here

1st track from my upcoming album -- Click to listen -- Thanks!

Please read the rules before posting in the feedback forums http://bit.l

Kafla

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2011, 08:34:43 AM »
I have never had any lessons DutchBeat

I taught myself the guitar buying songbooks of all the bands I liked

When I was in a band I was forever hounding the other members to show me things on their instruments and during breaks I would play keyboard, bass and bash away on the drums

Eventually I started writing song on keyboard as well as guitar