konalavadome

How We Treat New Members...

• 40 Replies

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« on: March 17, 2017, 08:10:39 PM »
Hi All

I wanted to get some feedback and a discussion going about how we treat new members to the forum

I would be interested to hear from long standing AND newer members

Cast your mind back to when you first joined....

Certainly for me it was quite intimidating and the main reason for joining the forum is usually to get feedback on your own song

As a complete newbie it is difficult to know where to start so I understand that most take a deep breath and post a song - and then probably sit there hitting refresh to see if they get any reviews/comments

There have been a few comments warning members posting their first song that they should review others - some within minutes and hours

I personally think this is a little harsh - are we really expecting a total newbie to review lots of songs before they post one of their own?

Is there anything wrong with someone posting ONE song without reviewing others to see if they get any bites? - they then may go and review those that give a review to them

It is a little bit chicken & egg but I would like to establish clearer guidelines for new members

My feeling at the moment is posting 1 song without reviewing others should not trigger "read the guidelines" posts to give them a chance to review other people

If they post a second song then I think a friendly reminder about the guidelines should be given

If they do it a third time their post gets locked until they give some reviews

How does this sound? - too lenient? too harsh?

As a new member that may be feeling nervous I think it is too high an expectation for them to be expected to do some reviews before posting their own song
To check out my music please visit:

http://soundcloud.com/boydiemusic

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BoydieMusic

tone

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
  • Forum Former Führer