Feedback from Vezner/Henry Workshop

• 3 Replies

CaliaMoko

• Stadium Tour
  • Strumming on the couch in pigtails
    • Late Bloomers Rock
« on: December 08, 2016, 10:30:41 PM »
I went to a songwriters' workshop Tuesday evening (Dec 6) led by Jon Vezner and Don Henry (they perform together as the Don Juan's and have a great new Halloween video on YouTube Called "Garden of the Dead"). Jon is married to Kathy Mattea and Jon & Don wrote "Where've You Been" a Grammy winning song from a few years back.

Anyway, I had to drive through blizzards to get there, but I made it to the workshop, so here's what extremely little I learned (I'm not good at taking notes, I guess).

Most of the time was spent on specific suggestions for songs by participants. Each of us had a chance to play and sing one of our songs.

What general advice I can find in my notes says:

1. Don't tell the title of your songs when you perform them. It sets up pre-conceived notions in the listeners' heads and may adversely affect how they hear the song.

2. Don't tell the story of your song before you perform it, especially if telling it takes longer than singing the song. If you feel like you have to TELL the whole story, then you (a) don't need to sing the song; they already know the story and/or (b) need to go back and do a better job of telling the story with the song.

3. Keep writing materials/phone/tablets/computers...handy so you can make notes every time you think of something that MIGHT work for a song, melody, or song title.

4. Set deadlines. For instance, decide you need a new song for Christmas and it must be done in time for your family Christmas party (or whatever). Or get the deadlines set for you externally, like assignments from a songwriting class or group or by volunteering to provide a new song for some upcoming event in your town or an organization you're part of.