Purple Shades

• 6 Replies

CaliaMoko

• Stadium Tour
  • Strumming on the couch in pigtails
    • Late Bloomers Rock
« on: June 26, 2016, 12:29:21 AM »
I'm moving this here from "Lyrics", as I have a demo made now. You can hear it at https://soundcloud.com/caliamoko/purple-shades-take-1.

I'm learning in small increments, so try to ignore the canned accompaniment. What I'm looking for is

1. advice on how to mix this.

1.A. At the moment, I think I have the volume levels fairly good relative to each other, but I have no experience so I don't know for sure. Maybe the acoustic guitar is too quiet (the only actual real instrument)?

1.B. I have left the canned accompaniment centered, and I moved my lead vocal slightly to the left and the acoustic rhythm guitar somewhat to the right. Does that work, or should I try something else?

1.C. Then I assume I should warm it up a little with some reverb? Short of eradicating the canned background, which won't happen this time around, what else should I consider?

2. It needs a better name. The phrase "Purple Shades" was in an earlier incarnation of the song, but it's gone now. Maybe I could call it "Survivor Ceremony", since that's what it will be used for. Or "Purple Hues". ?

This song is specifically by request for our local Relay For Life event coming up in July. I can't be there, so I've agreed to provide two songs via recording. This is one of them. Lyrics below.

PURPLE SHADES

Verse 1
The evening sky in purple hues
Declares the close of day
The colors darken into blues
The moon comes out to play

To indigo from violet
The sky grows darker till
The stars begin to twinkle and
The frogs begin to trill
The stars begin to twinkle and
The frogs begin to trill

Verse 2
We walk and wander 'round the track
And read the mem'ries there
And as we finish every lap
We say a little prayer

In honor of, in mem'ry of
The little candles gleam
Bright tokens of undying love
From every Relay team
Bright tokens of undying love