Helena writes lyrics in her sleep.

• 19 Replies

Helena4

• Open Mic
« on: June 17, 2016, 09:22:12 AM »
My name's Helena, I'm 17, I've been writing lyrics for about 3 years, playing the guitar for about 2, and I have some decent singing going on... these are all things I'm continuing to work on.

I listen to a huge range of music including mostly various genres of rock, hip hop and electronic. My favourite stuff is rock though and I like it a little odd and rough around the edges. My favourite bands are Number Girl, The Smiths, Savages, Slaves and Bikini Kill. Basically I think punky and post-punky sounds are my favoruite. My favourite singer is Shiina Ringo, a Japanese Bjork-esque singer with a crazy mixture of Hard Rock, Jazz and more alternative stuff under her belt.

My lyrics are usually pretty straight forward in getting they're general point across but have some deeper meaning hidden in the metaphor and sometimes humour. I'm not one for writing something properly poetic, as I always feel like my point is not getting across, and I like being sort of straight forward and abrasive sometimes. I don't dislike songs with poetic lyrics though. I try it sometimes but since I was a kid who wrote loads of stories and hated poetry... the more abstract style does not come naturally to me.

I plan to try and form a band in uni to finally have an outlet for my songs. I could do singing and guitar, though I might want to delegate guitar out to someone better if I could, and I'd need a bassist and a drummer. If anyone in Sussex (where I live) or London (where my Uni will be) wants to talk we can. I'm not the highest level so I'm not picky as long as long as you're dedicated. I'm not actually expecting a response to that though, this isn't an ad.

I'm here because I've fallen out with my own songwriting buddy and now I'm writing sort of blindly, so I might post some things on here that I feel like I really need feedback about.