Midi Questions

• 8 Replies

CaliaMoko

• Stadium Tour
  • Strumming on the couch in pigtails
    • Late Bloomers Rock
« on: March 16, 2016, 12:28:09 PM »
I'm practicing typing midi notes into Reaper to build a piece of music. I've never done this before and, not too surprisingly, I keep running into trouble.

Pompeyjazz showed me how to make a drum track audible. Thanks! :) I do still have a long way to go with that, of course, but I think the main thing might be needing more VST files.

Today my need for help is with keyboard VSTs (or VSTi's). I have one called DSK AcousticKeys, and I'm wondering if it's not very good or if something is wrong with what I've done or my computer. The sounds are shaky or uncertain. Like, I'll hear ghost echos of a different note or the note will waver out of tune--things like that, at random.

Anyone know if that's me or if it's the VSTi?

Vicki

pompeyjazz

• Stadium Tour
  • pompeyjazz
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2016, 06:38:32 PM »
Hi Vicki, Just doing a little experiment now. DSK Acoustic Keys does sound fine to me. Try some of the various presets from the drop down menu and see if they sound different.

Then if your still having an issue, download DSK Strings and choose "Pure Cello" or "Pure violin" they are fairly standard reproductions and should sound vaguely like the instruments in question.

If you're still having issues, make sure all your other applications closed down on the computer as Reaper is quite greedy. You can also look at disabimg some of your computers background tasks but that's a more drastic step.

Now your Reaper midi tip so you can extend your drum tracks and don't have to keep cutting and pasting.

Put your mouse on the right edge of the midi box and a two way arrow will appear

hold the left mouse button down and drag to the right - You have just extened the midi box !

Hope this helps

John

CaliaMoko

• Stadium Tour
    • Late Bloomers Rock
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2016, 08:03:36 PM »