Writing a complete song

• 28 Replies

Katie Wilson

« on: February 27, 2018, 08:13:21 PM »
Hi I'm going to experiment I've never written music before - all I know that you have to stay in key - I'm going to take a key and make up some chords for some of my lyrics using a free app on the web - then I will take it from there - I'm quite excited - it might be rubbish but it's all a learning curve
If anyone can give any advice that would be great

Mike67

« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2018, 09:54:06 PM »
Keep it simple. There are lots of well used chord sequences for different genres; just google common chord progressions. Enjoy and good luck.

pompeyjazz

• Stadium Tour
  • pompeyjazz
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2018, 10:42:02 PM »
Hi Katie. Yeah just go for it. There are lots of us on here that will help you out especially as you have made such a positive contribution to the forum.  Keep us posted  :)

Katie Wilson

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2018, 11:18:57 PM »
Thanks guys

Katie Wilson

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2018, 01:14:50 AM »
Right this is a complete beginner who knows nothing about music - I've used a free chord app and tried to match it up with my lyrics , I've got no idea how it sounds.

I've done it in C major I believe - I didn't spend to long on it in case I'm wasting my time
Here's what I've done for the first verse

I met him at the airport

V1
I met him  at the airport.   on my way    to Spain
       C                    DM7                 EM.           G

I    wanted   to  get    away  from the rain
C     Am          B.        G.              Am

he.was  going    to Mexico
    C.      DM            AM

I didn't think    I'd see him    again
         C               DM                  AM

If it's any good it's just a fluke

Skub

• Stadium Tour
    • Soundcloud
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2018, 04:57:24 PM »
Yo Katie,is that a D major7 or a D minor7?