konalavadome

Risen - Dutchbeat style!

• 18 Replies

Kafla

« on: October 28, 2011, 04:48:56 PM »
Some of you may remember the song I posted called Risen http://soundcloud.com/andrewcruse/risen-1

Mr Dutchbeat decided to have a go at mixing it - his main aim was to try and show me how he would mix the vocals

This is his mix , with Mrs DB on joint vocal duties - with a brilliant video featuring a host of Hollywood extras ;D

&list=UL

Thanks again Mr Dutchbeat ;D

jmacdon

• Solo Gig
  • Give me a lyric and I'll give you a song
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2011, 10:26:06 PM »
wow - what a difference. 

This is the dilemma faced by most songwriters.  We may write and record a demo showcasing our song - but which lacks the panache and wow factor that airplay providers demand.  Herein lies the power and influence of the producer!  I'm a novice with Logic and record and produce my tracks using only the most basic functions.   But pass the track on to a professional (or competent) producer and they will work wonders and turn the song around.

So once again, I ask the question - do we judge songs (posted on this forum) on the underlying quality of the lyrics and melody?  Or do we judge it on the polished performance?

Kafla

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2011, 10:56:54 PM »
Hi John,

After going round in circles on this one I have come to the conclusion that I personally need to critique what is presented - eveything - lyrics ,melody and the production.

I think we just need to pay attention to all these aspects in equal proportion.

Many members have now had a go at mixing my songs , so much so that I now feel I have the weapons to produce tentatively myself ( I will post the results here soon)

The main thing is to keep enjoying the craft and striving to get a little better every time.

Best wishes my friend

Andy

jim morrison

• Platinum Album
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2011, 12:07:02 AM »