Need help with my acoustic Takamine

• 5 Replies

stefano65

• Busker
« on: July 18, 2014, 03:27:41 PM »
Hi all,
i am an electric bassist, not a guitarist so i ask to someone more expert than me: my acoustic/electric little one is a Takamine, model EG334B0. She is around 15 years old, i bought her new in a music shop.

I have problems with her: the strings doesn't want to stay in tune. More, i cannot use an electronic tuner because when i perfectly tune her, it doesn't "fit" with the fret: the open strings are in tune, but when i try to make a chord, the sound is out of tune in every cord position.
Thinking it was because my strings could be old, i change them. Nothing changed.
I tryed with a screwdriver to "close" all the little screws on the mechanincs. Nothing changed.

Can someone plz help me to understand what's happened and what can i do to fix this issue? I wish don't change my little one...
« Last Edit: July 18, 2014, 03:29:19 PM by stefano65 »

stavcoby

• Busker
    • Reflection & the misplaced variety act
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2014, 04:37:09 PM »
This is an intonation issue ( pitch accuracy ) normally caused by a curved neck or maybe a bridge issue.

You need to either loosen or tighten the truss rod accordingly.  I recommend getting a guit repair guy to look at it and set it up for you, if you’re not aware of guitar maintenance.

Could of been warped through climate in storage or a knock or even strings too tight at a high gauge.  :)

stefano65

• Busker
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2014, 04:52:44 PM »
This is an intonation issue ( pitch accuracy ) normally caused by a curved neck or maybe a bridge issue.

You need to either loosen or tighten the truss rod accordingly.  I recommend getting a guit repair guy to look at it and set it up for you, if you’re not aware of guitar maintenance.

Could of been warped through climate in storage or a knock or even strings too tight at a high gauge.  :)