Instrumental TV Theme Pitch

• 21 Replies

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« on: May 04, 2015, 11:41:59 AM »
Hi All

I would love some feedback on this 25 - 30 second signature theme tune

It is a pitch for a UK TV theme tune for a "comedy quiz show" - a la QI, Mock The Week etc.

Here is the brief:

The brief is to compose a piece of music which is catchy, instrumental, lighthearted, comic but not cheesy. Not too jeopardy heavy either. Big melodic hook. We’ve been given Terry and June TV theme (for the melodic hook / comedy) crossed with Countdown theme (for tension and tempo) as a strap line for the musical direction. The composition may lend itself more towards the male viewer. QI theme tune, Top Gear theme tune also referenced.

I would love to know if you could hear this as a TV theme tune as it is my first attempt at this type of writing...

https://soundcloud.com/boydiemusic/boydie-tv-theme/s-18qbk
To check out my music please visit:

http://soundcloud.com/boydiemusic

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BoydieMusic

ShinyThang

• Platinum Album
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 11:51:36 AM »
Bludee good first attempt! Yeah! Why not a T.V. theme? not sure it's got much in common with Terry and June and thank goodness for that! What an odd thing to mention in the brief except, of course, it probably highlights the 'lightheartedness' they're looking for which, I'm not sure you've got in your melody. You seem to have got the Countdown clicks in there though, was that deliberate?

They're, there, their  ...  They're all different!

www.soundcloud.com/geoffjamesevans

Boydie

• Administrator
  • Stadium Tour
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2015, 11:59:35 AM »
The "Countdown clicks" were a little nod but I wanted to keep it subtle