City Life

• 10 Replies

Coolcat

• Busker
« on: July 09, 2015, 12:44:16 PM »
I'm a newbie to the art of writing lyrics and this is my very first attempt.

I will welcome your feedback and advice for improvement.

City Life

Verse 1
A sea of faces rush by me, as I stroll along the Avenue
The newspapers blowing tell of nothing new
Billboards scream another headline; ‘a celebrity’s life exposed,’
Buskers on the street corner sing; ‘Randolph’s been deposed’

Verse 2
At speakers corner stands a preacher, spreading the word of God, you see
The drunks and junkies avoid him purposely
Protesters marching down the road, waving banners in frustration,
Another politician backpedalling with promises having no foundation

Chorus:
City life is always a struggle
With its high rise buildings, a concrete jungle
Slow down, slow down; why can’t you see
This is how life’s not meant to be

Verse 3
Sirens wailing through the night, the vehicles rush on by,
Young men lay dead in the street and their Mama cry.
Neon lights glow bright at night, a luring sight for many,
Except the worldly wise who know otherwise, wouldn’t waste a penny.

Chorus:
This is how life’s not meant to be

Outro:

This is how life’s not meant to be ... (repeat to fade)

« Last Edit: July 09, 2015, 01:45:51 PM by Coolcat »
Nothing Changes If Nothing Changes

Paulski

• Stadium Tour
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2015, 05:54:09 PM »
Hi Coolcat

You've got some great imagery in this. I esp liked:

A sea of faces rush by

and

Neon lights glow bright at night

I think some lines could be pared down to be more succinct:

For example:

A sea of faces rush by me, as I stroll along the Avenue

could be sth like:

A sea of faces rush by, I stroll the Avenue

And this line would be a mouthful to sing IMO (maybe pare it down?):

Another politician backpedalling with promises having no foundation

If you already have music/melody line and need all those syllables pls ignore me  ;D

Overall looks like you've got talent IMHO