konalavadome

Ozymandias

• 8 Replies

Almosthumanrobot

• Busker
« on: September 25, 2017, 07:39:46 PM »
This is my first time posting on this forum, I hope I'm doing this good.

This song is inspired by songs like Viva La Vida, Hurt and obviously by the poem Ozymandias.
It's about this king looking at his empire after it's been laid to waste.
Most of the lyrics are though applicable to any situation in which you are feeling a lot of regret.

This is the first song in which I tried broader insturmentation (paino, drums etc.) I was wondering what the opinions of it on this forum are. I'm curious to see what you think!

https://soundcloud.com/almosthumanrobot/ozymandias

The Lyrics:

Ozymandias

The world was once mine
Kingdoms would fall when I gave the sign
Now only regret remains
Shattered round these vast planes

What is the point of living
If you recieve nothing worth giving

God what have I done
What have I become

Swept away from my throne
Scraping sorrow from my bone
Let it be known
I attone..
I attone

Losing all sense of direction
Becoming astranged to my reflection

God what have I done
What have I become

Detached from all worth human
I gaze upon this fiery ruin
And out of my head these words appear
My name Ozymandias
Despair!

If I could begin anew
With everything I ever new

God what have I done
What have I become

God what have I done
What have I become

mickyplankton

• Platinum Album
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 09:48:45 PM »
Hi Almost Human Robot.

Welcome to the forum. Musically This is brilliant. Love the layered structure to this tune. It's mellow but also got depth and a real sense of drama.