konalavadome

How Your Job Influences Your Writing?

• 16 Replies

ScottLevi

• Platinum Album
  • Keep on Trucking
« on: October 02, 2016, 02:32:49 PM »
Hey,

Credit to misswhiterabbit for the inspiration talking about being a teacher and it's limitations in song-writing, as it got me thinking about my job and how it influences me, but in both positive and negative ways.

Also apologies for the long post, I'm obviously in a writing mood. This is something I'll also probably add to and edit as time goes on as I enjoyed writing about the similarities and what skills/lessons are transferable - plus any writing practice is good as I'm gearing up to submit a post for review to get on our public engineering blog.

I've been a software engineer for near 5 years at a very large IT company, and one of the more important things I've learnt over that time is that it's not 'sitting in a dark room writing complicated algorithms' that make you a valued engineer, it's everything else around it.

People
During the interview process especially and then emphasized consistently is the need to 'network' with others and work as a team. You need to be able to participate in and get along with any team of people. When I started work I was very outgoing with people I knew, but specifically and deliberately very quiet around new people. This became a focal point on reviews and I was forced to become more confident and comfortable around others. Though I haven't done any open-mics or performed in-front of more than two people, I know these lessons have spilled over to my personal life and I'm in a much better position to network in the music world based on this experience.

Process
Process is potentially the most important thing about being a software developer. With words like 'Agile' and 'DevOps' being used as buzz-words in the industry, I'll talk about the actual points I've came across and how they've changed my approach to songwriting.