konalavadome

Belated greetings from Dead Weight

• 2 Replies

Dead Weight

• Busker
« on: August 17, 2012, 12:54:57 AM »
Hello all,

Just came across this part of the Songwriter's Forum and realised I've not introduced myself.  Please forgive my lack of manners.

My name is Dan and I hail from Plymouth.  I'm in my thirties now and I have recently become a father.

I started writing songs when I was at uni, writing lyrics and trying to compose the music on my guitar (more recently on my piano).  As a kid I learned to read music through playing the violin.

I jammed occasionally with mates during my uni days, but I never ventured beyond sing-alongs with housemates and other willing (or bladdered) house-party guests.

When I graduated and started work, I had less time for playing, but I'd have occasional creative bursts from time to time.  So I continued to keep writing lyrics down.  I've been 'hiding my light under a bush' for too long now, so I found this site and decided to show my wares.

I've written 30+ songs (and a handful of poems), with several 'works in progress' that I keep on the back-burner, waiting for the remaining pieces to join them.  My writing process is normally random.  I’ve never sat down to write a song.  Sometimes the lyrics come to me first and I then lay down the tune.  Sometimes the tune develops, then I work on lyrics. Either way, I do enjoy the unravelling of a new song in my mind, the whole creative process developing, whatever the hour or location.

My guitar-playing isn’t what it used to be (have less time to just jam, or learn new songs), I spend more time on the piano these days.  I’ve got some recording software and hardware to link to my laptop, but I tend to keep putting off attempting to record anything.